Overview of the Acts Overview of the Acts

1. Police Act 19 of 1990

To provide for the establishment, organization and administration of the Namibian Police Force; to regulate the powers and duties of the Force and to prescribe the procedures in order to secure the internal security of Namibia and to maintain law and order; to regulate the discipline, appointment, promotion and discharge of members of the Force; and to provide for incidental matters.

2. Arms and Ammunition Act 7 of 1996

To provide for control over the possession of arms and ammunition; to regulate the dealing in, importation, exportation and manufacture of, arms and ammunition; and to provide for incidental matters.

3. Correctional Service Act 9 of 2012

To provide for the establishment of the Namibian Correctional Service and for matters incidental thereto.